Bittersweet Butterfly

The other day I found this butterfly at the ocean’s edge.  I was so surprised to see a beached butterfly.  I started taking pictures of it when a child came up to me asking “What is it?”.  When he got a better look he knew right away it was a butterfly but was just as shocked as I was that it was on the beach!

The butterfly was in bad shape but was still alive.  The little boy said he would build a little moat to protect it.

The wonderment of nature is alive in all of us, young & old if you open your eyes to it.  I like to think that this butterfly was living out it’s last day & fulfilled it’s wish of seeing the beach that one time.  I chose this pic with the boys hands & the butterfly;  there is a wonderful sweetness to a sad but natural part of life.

Leave a Reply

