Royal Carrot

Purple Carrots!

I have only seen mainstream grocery stores carry one color of carrot; orange.  Bugs Bunny only ever ate one color of carrot; orange.  So growing up orange was the only color I knew a carrot to be.

I discovered purple carrots several  years ago as the farmers markets became more prevalent in Richmond.  The farmer’s markets & Ellwood Thompsons is the only place that I have seen carrots of other colors like yellow, white, orange & purple.

As I was making dinner last night, I cut into this purple carrot & remembered how inspired I was the moment I discovered there were other carrot colors!  I love how the light inside contrasts with the deep purple outside.

What in nature inspires you to learn more?

Leave a Reply

